CSMP® Overview

The Certified Security Management Professional (CSMP®) is a 12-module Level 6 Accredited Diploma programme designed to take you progressively through the essentials of managing security in a corporate environment.  Award is through continuous assessment.

The CSMP® Diploma is accredited by SFJ Awards as the Level 6 Organisation Diploma for Certified Security Management Professionals.  It has been mapped against the UK National Occupational Standards for Security Management.

The programme is designed to be undertaken one unit each month (every four weeks) in the following order:


Unit 1:  Security Risk Analysis

Unit 2:  Crime Prevention

Unit 3:  Managing the Security Function

Unit 4:  Leadership and Management Core Skills

Unit 5:  Security Design, Evaluation and Surveying

Unit 6:  Perimeter Protection

Unit 7:  Protecting Buildings

Unit 8:  Access Management

Unit 9:  Video Surveillance (CCTV)

Unit 10: Facility Counterterrorism

Unit 11: Protection of Information

Unit 12: Protection of at-Risk Personnel


For full unit content details, please navigate to Programme Content 

We are now enrolling for the 1 December 2024 intake.

The fee for this will be £1250 (GBP) - all fees subject to UK VAT (where applicable).

Contact enquiries@ismi.org.uk for more information.